Dog Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone my dog; a Lhasa Apso is very old now. She's moving slower (Arthritis), and is becoming blind slowly each day.

Can anyone please provide me tips for old age dog care? I really love her to death and want to help her much as I can but I'm not an expert nor educated in animal health.

Also she cannot go up or down stairs, what can I do?

If you want to see pictures of her, here she is:

gofund.me/2bugws4w

·
Registered
2,208 Posts
Carry her up and down stairs. She's a small dog so that shouldn't be too hard. Also try to keep the furniture in and other things in the house in similar places, this will help keep her from bumping into things that much if she loses her sight. You can also consult the vet on any medication or supplements to take to relieve her arthritis. Just go slower, be gentler, like you would with anyone aging.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Carry her up and down stairs. She's a small dog so that shouldn't be too hard. Also try to keep the furniture in and other things in the house in similar places, this will help keep her from bumping into things that much if she loses her sight. You can also consult the vet on any medication or supplements to take to relieve her arthritis. Just go slower, be gentler, like you would with anyone aging.
Thank you very much I'll keep your advice in mind!!

·
Registered
1,839 Posts
Most of my pets died due to complications of old age.

I think the best thing a person can do, is be honest with yourself when it finally comes time to put an older animal asleep. So many people, I think, wait way too long because they just can't let go of their long time companions.

In the meantime, just remember that going/being blind or deaf, or both isn't painful for the animal and they can learn to adjust to it and still lead a happy life.