Dog Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Good day everyone! I'm new here. I'm seeking help.
Last Thursday my dog suddenly lost appetite and had fever and starts coughing. Yesterday she seems to have teary eyes. She doesn't eat and only drinks water for the following days. I brought her to the vet earlier because I'm so worried because she became so weak. Tests were conducted and turns out she has Distemper and she has low hemoglobin. The vet said that we could treat the symptoms but chances are they will come back and will get worse day by day. She said that if we continue the medication we can prolong her life for now but the financial cost will also be expensive. She also gave me the option to euthanize her. I don't have the financial capabilities to support her continuous medication but I don't want to euthanize her yet. My dog is 9 years old. I'm a home-based graphic artist and she's always by my side every time I work. Right now I'm in shock because things just happened so suddenly. Just a few days ago she's happily playing with me then suddenly this.

I ask for help and opinions...when do you think is the right time for me to give her eternal rest? and what do you think are her chances given her situation right now? She's in mucosal stage of the disease. She's currently confined in the vet clinic and given vitamins and other medications and before I left the clinic she had diarrhea but no vomiting. Should I just take her home? Please help me decide on what to do.

Thank you so much for reading.

·
Registered
2,712 Posts
I'm so sorry!

Distemper is not a pleasant way to die. Even dogs who survive are permanently neurologically damaged. I personally would not put a dog through that, as painful as it is to let go.

·
Registered
2,899 Posts
Why wasn't she vaccinated?

·
Registered
4,437 Posts

Seems sort of pointless to ask and designed to make the OP feel even worse.