Dog Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My dog Simon (corgi-golden retriever) turned 12 about a month ago and over the last year or so he has been showing his age but lately it's a little bit more noticeable. He's only about 27 pounds but unfortunately I have stairs so he can't always walk down them but he can walk up. 1. he doesn't eat in the mornings, afternoon sometimes if I put it back out, but he does eat dinner. I've been feeding him the same food for over 2 years, he's been doing this for about 6 months so does he not like the food or is he just doing his own thing? He's not bigger then normal but he does seem to have grown a little belly. I take him out as much as he can, given his age and the LA heat it's not the best combo. Should I think about switching to a different dog food and if so any tips on which brands? Also, a couple of his molars are a tiny bit loose, nothing to worry about at the moment but now he can't get non-anthestic cleaning done and I will not put him under anesthesia at his age. Besides brushing his teeth and dental treats, does any know of anything else I can do to keep his teeth and gums clean? Any advice wold be greatly appreciated.

Thank You,
Joseph

Attachments

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi Joseph,
Our senior rescue Jack Russel was in a similar situation. She ended up having to have a few teeth pulled and put on soft dog food (which she was VERY happy about!). We also put her on 2 supplements 1-Zenapet and 2-Cetyl M Response for dogs (they have a semi soft and soft tablet option) Man! She is like a puppy again! She has always been a little rickety since we brought her home from the shelter but now she runs around like a puppy- I am not exaggerating. There isn't anything unhealthy in the supplements and they are flavor friendly. Mercolapets.com has a natural teeth cleaning recipe that you might want to try too, I am giving it a try this weekend!