Dog Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello and thank you for reading :)

I got my chihuahua / beagle mix from a local animal shelter about a year ago. She's a very good dog, mostly obedient, she's also pretty smart (we counted, she knows 37 words).

However, there's just one problem. Ever since I got her, she has not pottied in OUR yard one time. Well, she has peed, but she won't do her main business in our yard.

This was fine over the summer, as I was home and could walk her around our neighborhood, or the field across the road at any point in the morning and had no time restraints. But now, being a student, I have to be ready to be out of the door by 6:30am, and she obviously has to go before I leave, which means I have to get up insanely early so I can take her on, like, a 20-25 minute walk all around the neighborhood, in rain or cold, waiting for her to do her business...

I don't know how I can get her to do this in our yard, she seems to only want to go in certain areas, mostly where she smells other dogs. Maybe this is because she had 3 prior homes? I don't know. :confused:

Over the summer, I want to buy her a fence, so she can be in our yard whenever she wants, would this help?

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!! :huddle:

·
Registered
223 Posts
One of my dogs is exactly like this. A fenced yard made no difference in his behavior. He simply will no go "number two" in our yard.

I SUPPOSE if I refused to walk him for a day or two, he would HAVE to go in the yard, but I think it would be distressing to him. So we walk, twice a day, everyday.

·
Registered
5 Posts