Dog Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I've recently adopted a 3-yr old Pit Bull Terrier from our local county shelter. She is sweet and adorable and very well-trained. She's crated during the day, and when I get home from work she's a bundle of energy so I take her for a walk. The problem is so walks SO fast, I find myself having to run to keep up with her. Then I'm sweating and panting and miserable. Any way to get her to slow down?
I'm new at this :)

·
Registered
84 Posts
I've been making some progress (after struggling) with my own energetic 6 month old Lab/Pit mix. You probably have a bigger issue given the age (a more entrenched behavior), but my suggestion would be to find a booooring place (for me it's my backyard, which is large enough for short circular walks--even more boring). There you can practice (you, too!) how to walk as a team.

I had tried everything (except pinch collars). Halti harness (some success), stop until she stops pulling (I'm big enough that she won't pull me anyway), various "heel" techniques, and so on. Going back to a simple flat collar and leash and practicing in my backyard is the only thing that really worked. We are also working on "look", where I periodically (while walking) ask her to look up at me. Finally, once out on the "real life" route, I started doing 180 and 90 degree turns (when safe) the second she started pulling ahead. The point of this (which I also practiced in my backyard) was to get her to realize she's not walking where she wants to, but that she has to stay in sync with and pay attention to me. It took a few walks, but she's got it now.