Dog Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all!

I'm getting quite concerned with my little 8 year old pup ( Jack Russell / Rat Terrier Mix !). We've had her since she was a puppy, and I've been noticing for the past few months that her play drive seems normal enough, but it feels like pulling teeth to actually get her to play and release that energy. This has NEVER been a problem until the last month or so.

Maybe it's just the rainy winter weather and she is getting bored, or maybe it's because we don't have access to our outdoor porch ( where she loves to run and play) right now. I'm trying to get that settled with my family so she can have her favorite play spot again, but for now, playtime is inside

I know this will be asked, but...she doesn't really like walks anymore. She is a family dog, and my family never took her on walks when I went away for college. I graduated in 2019, and once I tried to get her back on our routine, but she doesn't seem too interested in leaving the yard anymore since that isn't her normal. The outdoor back porch became the outlet for running.

But...playtime is inside for now. I've tried to throw her ball ( her favorite toy in the world) , or entice her with all her crinkly toys. Playtime, which used to be so simple and fun, has turned into stagnated event. She stops playing after every move to stare at me. It's so obvious she wants to play SO badly, and I want to give her that, but it's almost as if she doesn't know what to do anymore, or she doesn't know what she wants. She chases after her toys, but seems disinterested once she sniffs it and comes back with an empty jaw.

She at least comes back with the ball after she bolts after it, but even that activity slowed down drastically.

She doesn't look frustrated, but she could be. And I'm frustrated on behalf for her, because I feel so bad...