Dog Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be adopting a german shorthaired pointer(Dallas) soon from some family members of mine. Dallas lives on roughly 8 acres of land to roam and he has found that the neighbors have chickens. He recently got past the fence and killed some of the chickens so my aunt and uncle are giving him away. Their two young daughters are heartbroken by this so we would like to keep him in the family. Other than having a hankering for some poultry, he is a great dog. Never barks, great with children, doesn't chew, house broken, and gets along great with other dogs. My aunt and uncle got him when he was roughly 1 year old (he's about 3 now), and he was already house broken with maybe some other basic commands (sit, come, etc). I am a student at FSU, live with three other guys who are also welcoming of Dallas, and I'm willing to put in as much training as I can, but cannot afford to pay a trainer. Eventually I would like to have him pointing and retrieving birds for hunting, but I don't want to get ahead of myself. My dilemma is that I do not have a huge back yard. My house sits on about 1 acre, with the majority of the lot being in the back yard. The backyard is fenced in and I don't believe Dallas would be able to get out if he tried. The other dilemma is training him from the mindset that he has free range of 8 acres to a mindset that he needs to stay in a small back yard. Does anyone have experience of a similar situation or can offer some words of wisdom? I would really like to make this work and not have the dog go to a stranger and our family never be able to see him again.

·
Registered
1,985 Posts