Dog Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys!

I'm not new to dogs at all but I am new to getting a dog in this digital age. I'm a little stuck, well not as much stuck as I want to be sure I'm doing the right thing.

So quick story to explain. So I'm not on here trying to figure out what dog is right for me, I'm on here trying to figure out how to get the dog that is right for me?

Here is where I'm stuck, I've been hovering over petfinder trying to penetrate the layers of obfuscation between the actual animal and myself. I don't want to just blindly adopt some dog, yet it seems many rescues want you to fill out tons of paperwork and do interviews before you honestly know if you even want a single dog they are handling. I've literally begun this process to find either the animal in question is a bad fit or already adopted... :ponder:

Normally when I read a bio for a dog I think would be a good fit its is literally the only dog in said rescue and I feel like I need to meet the dog to know if there is a fit. By the time I'm setup in their system it doesn't matter and I'm on to the next rescue. This is getting annoying I've spent a dozen hours on darn bureaucracy here to no real avail.

So I'm basically done with petfinder. I don't live within 1 hour drive of any shelters so I can't hover over them and pop in and out to see what they have, and by the time they post a dog I'd be interested in, I find out about it, arrange my schedule to drive out there... its gone :( I'm not looking for rare animals here just a combination of physicality, age, and energy that is less common than your typical pit/terrier mix that is 75% of dogs looking for homes.