Dog Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a mini dachshund. Shes small, about 7 to 8 lbs and i have been working on potty training her with consistency for about 2 1/2 years now that I've had her. As you can expect of the breed shes very bad with it. Shes picky in the rain and cold and i have to actually make sure she pees or she wont go (yes even in the morning with no potty break for 8-9 hours) i take her out every 4-5 hours during the day after her initial morning pee, and once more right before bed regardless. She still occasionally poops in her crate, but i have not seen her pee in it in a long time. I honestly attribute that to her not getting it all out before bed maybe because of it being too cold at night and her rushing inside.

Shes just started to sit by the door to signal me she needs to pee. We give her extreme praise when she does so and let her out immediately.

Problem is, she very rarely does this.

I rarely have problems with her pooping inside, but she constantly pees inside. I cant even let her have a blanket in her crate or shell pee in it and sleep on it. Ive had to throw away 4 beds because ive noticed they're covered in a ridiculous amount of pee. She sleeps on her pee constantly. She is a very timid doggo, and i dont know if her sleeping on her pee and being timid are related, but i find it disgusting and want to eliminate that. So i got rid of her bed and then i see that she started peeing on pillows and a couch i have. So now i have to ban her from all cozy soft things because thats what she likes to pee on.

With all that history out of the way heres my real question:

Will getting her a litterbox help reduce or at least control where she pees in my home? Or do i have a bigger problem on my hands? I hate puppy pads and 100% refuse to use them. I understand that her breed is very bad with training, but could giving her someplace ok and easily accessible in the house to pee in help my issues?