Dog Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi, I'm new to this, but I'm planning on flying out my dog in China back to Canada to live with me. I'm going back over the summer, but I know that brachycephalic dog breeds have difficulties with high temperatures and stress, causing heat strokes and breathing problems. If I bring these dogs back, they will most likely be on a cargo plane for over 12 hours in their crates. So before I make plans to make this happen, I was just wondering if anyone could tell me whether these two dogs are considered brachycephalic breeds and if they are more susceptible than normal to heat strokes/breathing problems under stress and high temperatures. Thank you in advance!

PS- if anyone has any experience with bringing a from China to Canada (via cargo flights), please let me know if you used a pet relocation agency or if you did it yourself (and what airline), or any helpful tips/information would be nice too. Thanks : )

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
11,911 Posts
Brachy breeds have "flat faces". Think of pugs, boston terriers, french bulldogs, and even boxers!;)

As far as transporting dog from China to Canada, I have no clue!
You would want to talk to the airline about their policies and requirements as well as find out what Canadian officials are going to need! I hope someone can give you more info or point you in the right direction.:)

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks! The only reason I'm concerned that they might be considered snub nosed is because I heard pit bulls are snub nosed breeds, but their faces aren't that flat, which confused me a little and made we wonder if the black puppy was snub faced.

& I've looked into Canada's guidelines to bringing dogs across the border, but I will look into contacting the airlines about their policies once I'm in China : )

·
Registered
498 Posts