Dog Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For the last few years I have wanted a dog, and I've done a fair bit of research into what dog would fit me best. Now, after a bit of saving, I am financially ready to buy. I am just really nervous about getting it wrong!
For a long time I have loved Kelpies because I am an active person who runs most days, and on other days I trail ride with my horse. I also love hiking and cycling, generally anything in the outdoors! I want a dog that has the energy to keep up with me on my adventures, and also one who will be a loving and loyal buddy. This will be my first time owning a dog, but my family have previously owned dogs and I will be living with them for the next few years while I study locally and make enough money to move out. Additionally, I am planning to enroll in puppy school.
My biggest concern is about leaving it alone while I'm studying. I am prepared to get up and run with it every morning once it's old enough, and take them for another when I get home. At the moment I live on a medium block of land rurally, which I'll hopefully stay here for for a few more years. The dog will have to be kennelled/tied up during the day as our yard is not fenced. I wouldn't mind putting it in doggy daycare a few days a week but I can't really afford daily in the long term.
Suggestions? Ideas? I'm really scared of getting a Kelpie and finding that it can't handle being home alone for 6-8 hours 5 days a week.

·
Registered
299 Posts
I’d agree. Kelpies are intelligent and need to be kept stimulated with a job to do. I have a friend who is a vet with years of experience owning and treating numerous dogs and he says that kelpies are not beginners dogs.

·
Registered
27 Posts
no, cattle dogs need to be on the go constantly they were made to be working ALL DAY long

i have a border collie and she doesnt stop,