Dog Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There is a dog that I've been thinking about looking at.She is 8 months old. I don't much about her. I have never done agility or obedience, rally, before. However, I'm interested in getting involved.

I had spoken to someone recently, at an agility competition, who had gotten her dog at around 7 months, and she told me that there were things that she just couldn't train the dog to do but that if she'd gotten her as a young puppy, she might have.

Has anyone worked with an older puppy, that hasn't had prior training in these events and, if so, what kind of success have you had?

·
Premium Member
4,599 Posts
That is ridiculous. 8 months is still so young! Young enough they shouldn't even be doing any real jumps, intense weaving, or super repetitive motions. Levi didn't take his first rally class until 6 months old, and then we competed for the first time just shy of his second birthday, and he got his novice title, so I find her comments absolutely bizarre.

·
Registered
1,031 Posts
Perhaps her comments were excuses for poor training on her part. I agree with Shandula that there are some exercises that should not be done early; they may be detrimental to a small puppy.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Maybe she was referring more to regular Obedience trials. I'm new to this, so maybe I did misunderstand. I thought I heard her say something about the dog having to take something in its mouth and that was one specific thing I remember her mentioning that she wasn't able to teach her dog to do when it was a little older.

·
Registered
51 Posts