Dog Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 6month old Brittany boy was eating Native (something like that) at the breeder and we slowly switched him over to Blue Buffalo Wilderness Puppy during our first month with him. We've been feeding that ever since and my mom told me she had seen an article about how BB has been lying about ingredients and about recalls and how it's not worth the almost 60$/bag. Granted I have never had problems with it, but I've only been through 2 bags so far so I'm no expert. I would rather switch now than have problems in the future (I have about 2 weeks left of food).

I've been looking up some alternatives and I've narrowed it down, but I'm not sure which is the best choice. If any of you have any input on these following foods, please let me know!

Important factors for me:
-High energy dog so it must be high in protein
-Must be able to pick up rather than online (I have a Petsmart, Petco, and Tractor Supply near me)
-Must be grain-free as I'm told this will prevent skin and coat issues that Brittanys sometime have

Non-Issues:
-Cost
-Brand (I'm not partial to any of these, I just want the best for my pup)

1. Simply Nourish - Grain Free Puppy Food
2. Simply Nourish Source - Grain Free Puppy Food
3. Wellness Core Puppy Food
4. 4Health Puppy Formula
5. Merrick - Grain Free Puppy Recipe

These are in no particular order, just the order I had them up on my computer screen. Thank you in advance for your help! I'm new to this forum but I already feel welcome!

·
Premium Member
4,599 Posts
All of those brands are actually quite good I believe. The only one I might avoid would be Merrick. They've recently been purchased by Purina, so I'm concerned there could be a potential drop in quality.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·