Dog Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this dog breed. I have a three month old puppy named Baileigh, she's extremely smart!
Do yall have any experience or pointers with this breed?

·
Registered
7,695 Posts
Hi there Catahoula lover! Welcome. Love your dog's name.
Yep, we are owned by two female houlas, the mentally challenged one, Addison, lived with hoarders in Kansas and Chloe was found in the Arizona desert with cacti sticking out of her! Don Abney's book on Catahoulas is a source (ignore the dominance/packy stuff tho) and actually, Wikipedia has a good history. You can also google "the history of the Catahoula Leopard dog....I am always visiting the Catahoula Rescue sites for information and connections! EXCELLENT SITES!
Briefly, houlas are very protective of their "family" and need to be socialized early with young children and people....they have a strong prey drive - so don't say the word "squirrel" around one. They can become destructive if bored and can experience separation anxiety (like many dogs). THEY NEED A JOB TO DO in your family, whether it's picking up clothes, monitoring your front house window, or getting rid of chipmunks in the yard. I would strongly advice you to microchip, once they scent prey, they can disappear into the next county!!! Seriously, sigh.