Dog Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,319 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, this is going to be long so sorry. As most of you know, where I live we only have 1 vet who comes into town once a month. The old building he rented until he bought a large piece of land and built a new facility. He has his own somewhere outside of anchorage Alaska. Don't get me wrong, I'm happy he even comes once a month, but he could at least show he is the best. He compromises the dogs in our town who have to have surgery.

The new building he built from scratch only has two rooms. A main room where he does everything from exams, to nail clippings to shaving and surgeries. In the other room is where he houses the pets. He also made an apartment rental behind the office so the land was big enough to have at least three to four rooms.

I'm studying to be a vet assistant and from what I've been reading and seeing with our vet is many regulations being broken.

Kumas breath stinks like something is infected. We took him to our vet and he said he just needs his teeth cleaned and many raw bones to chew. So we made the appointment and Kuma went to get his teeth cleaned. He charged us 500 dollars. He did not say Kuma has a lose tooth that needs to be pulled or that he might have an infected teeth. He said bring him back in 6 to 8 month for another cleaning and over time his breath will get better.

We are on vacation and we decided since Kuma is with us we'd get another advice from another vet from a different company.

Guess what this vet said. Kuma has a lose tooth that needs to be pulled. She thinks it's because the teeth were too crowded and the other teeth were pounding into the lose tooth. Our vet said nothing and I asked what was wrong and all he said is his teeth needs to be cleaned.

She also said that she thinks Kuma may have an infected tooth, but wasn't sure until she got Kuma under anesthetic and have a more better look. So we said let's make the appointment.