Dog Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I'm new to this thread, but I need some advice from multi-dog owners.
First of all, I am a huge animal lover, and I always have been. I got my first dog, Alphonse (first ever owned by me, I've had family dogs throughout childhood) a little less than a year ago when my now fiance, Brian, got him for me when he proposed to me, yes it was magical haha! This dog has absolutely become the love of my life. He is my best friend. We got him when he was 4 months old, but you can tell he's an old soul. He never chewed up a single thing, maybe had two accidents in the house, and is the kindest, sweetest dog I have ever met. Of course I'm biased, but to me he is also the cutest dog in the world.
In the past year I've had some huge life changes (getting engaged, graduating college, buying first home) and Alphonse has been through all of that with me. I can't state it enough, I love this dog. But because I care so much for him I'm also very over protective. Since we got our new home he's been lonely since we aren't living with my parents and their dog. He's started chewing on his nails and sleeping a lot while we are at work. Even though I take him for walks in the morning and every evening and play with him every day I know that he's not mentally stimulated enough anymore. So after talking about it for a couple weeks my fiance and I decided to get another dog (Alphonse loves other dogs).