Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all.

Sorry for the blatant title, but I just need some solid advice. I got my little guy a week ago, and I just don't know if I can handle this. It isn't that I don't love his goofy little face, or that I am worried about money or anything... I know I can swing the money, and I know training him is going to be work. I have no problem with any of this... I just don't know if I am doing right by him.

I am a law student. I spend (at most) 6 hours at school a day, and then I come home and have to do 1-2 hours of reading (sometimes 3-4). I have no problem getting up in the morning and brining him for a long walk and a play before I leave for school, and giving him a whole bunch of attention when I get home... I just don't know if it is fair. Am I being selfish keeping him? Am I depriving him of a life with someone who can spend all day with him?

I just don't want him to hate me, or have a life that is less than his amazing little self deserves.

Ugh. Sorry for the ramble I am just really scared I am being selfish and rationalizing this to myself.

·
Banned
66 Posts
That's a good question. As it is, he is not living the optimum life, but, really, who is. His life though is a good life. He is loved, fed, and exercised. No worse than someone who spends their life in a cube farm at a job they hate.

If you could find a better home where he could get more attention, then that would be an option. But it not, keep him and do the best you can. That's what we all do anyway.

·
Registered
1,839 Posts
When you say 'little guy' I am assuming a puppy? Puppies sleep a lot, so probably most of the time you are gone he's asleep - but then dogs like to sleep no matter how old they are. I think dogs are fine just knowing you are in the house, so when you are there studying, I think they are basically content.