Dog Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I have some questions for those who compete in agility and obedience trials! I am the proud new momma to a German Shepherd puppy. She is only eight weeks right now, I have just been focusing on housebreaking (which is going well thus far!), teaching her name to her and working on sit (which she is doing great with!). I realize she is far too young to start working on agility training. Here are my questions though..

1. At what age can you begin training a dog for agility? I believe I read 16 months somewhere.. but I just want to confirm.

2. What should I be working on her with obedience wise?

3. I am going to look into local groups and classes, does anyone have any recommendations for the Kitchener area?

Thanks in advance!

·
Premium Member
7,969 Posts
@Voodoo - welcome to DF!

I am not an expert but I can tell you what I do know and then direct some more knowledgeable members over here to fills in the blanks :)

You can start the basics of agility at anytime! You just don't want to do any jumping until they are done growing. Something that will definitely help you is teaching body awareness. This is something that I wish I started with my girl when she was a puppy.

I think just overall solid obedience and focus is really helpful. I've seen dogs who had AMAZING drive and were great through all of the obstacles completely lose focus when a person walked by or a dog came into the room. One dog left the course, jumped over the little fence to go play with other dogs.
@jclark343 @Shandula @agilityk9trainer are my go-to's with any agility questions around here! :)

·
Premium Member
4,599 Posts
Welcome to the DF!

I haven't done any trialing yet, but both my guys are in training for agility. You can do lots of wonderful pre-agility training, that will help you out a ton.