Dog Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,

I am a first time dog owner. I have always wanted one, but for one reason or another never get one. I got a puppy about a week ago. He is a Cavalier Spaniel. He is about 10 weeks old now. My friends don't have pets, as they lead busy city lives. I bought a book, plus I went shopping and went overboard and bought toys, beds, crate, perfume and so much more. I have also been reading articles online. I am a completely beginner to dogs, and I already love my puppy Max, and I am having to learn fast. So some good advice would be really welcome.

Here are some questions I have at the moment:

1) I have read small dogs or puppies like him only need half tea cups amount of food twice a day. Is this correct? I have been feeding him quite a bit more. He still seems a bit hungry! I don't want to make him fat and get him used to large amounts of food if he does not need it. He is tiny. Typically, I would feed him once in the morning, say around 7am is, and once around 4pm ish. And that would be it for the day. However, that seems like a long time for me! He does always have water. Any advice on this is welcome. My wife gave him a lot of food while I was out today. She always gives hime food if he barks too much and I am not at home. And today she overfed him and his belly now looks all bloated compared to how body, and he was very hyper today. Luckily I feed him 99% of the time.