Dog Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a first time dog owner. A few months ago, I recently "adopted" three dogs - a corgi, a boxer-pug mix, and a dachshund. I will be taking care of them over the next three years while their actual owners are living overseas.

On normal weather days (I'm from California), I take them on walks separately as they each walk at significantly different paces. Which can be incredibly time consuming considering that I'm a full-time college student and working part time.

However for some strange reason they don't like using our huge back yard to potty during rainy days like today. So I have to take them out on walks more than usual.

I walked all three today at the same time. My hands were full and I was frustrated because they kept tangling the leashes and my corgi likes to tug aggressively even after training her not to. She pooped on this person's yard and I didn't pick it up. A man opened the front door and yelled "Pick that sh*t up! I don't want that sh*t on my yard!"

Yes I was being irresponsible. I've never been scolded by a stranger before for anything so I was incredibly embarrassed. I told him I was sorry and I picked it up.

After that I came across this really friendly old man and my boxer-pug and dachshund attacked him while we were having small talk.

Do I deserve to own a dog if it's this hard for me to control them? There are so many things to know about owning a dog and I feel guilty about being ignorant.

·
Registered
2,207 Posts