Dog Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My childhood dog is named "Jake". The dog is going to be moving in with my LT boyfriend and I next summer for the remainder of his days. My boyfriend's name is also Jake.

You can see how this can get confusing? xD I can not change the human's name, so we've decided to alter the dog's name slightly to "Jack". I have instructed my family to start calling the dog to Jack, which they have done for the most part, and it seems that he's picking up on the change slowly.

Is there a way to help him along in this process though? I was thinking maybe clicker training... but I've never done clicker training before, so I'm not TOTALLY sure how to do it. I'm thinking click + say "Jack" at the same time, and then give treat? Would that be right, or should things be done in a different order?

·
Registered
263 Posts
I think you would say, Jack! And when he acknowledges it, that's when you'd click and treat

·
Premium Member
4,613 Posts
I would say "Jack" then "Jake", then treat. I would do that over the course of a couple days. Then I would just say "Jack" if he looks, awesome give him a treat. If not, go back to saying both names for a bit, and keep trying to fade out "Jake".

·
Registered
884 Posts
Those are good ideas, but it's really not that complicated. Say the new name, plus the old name, then reward, basically any time you want to call him (for good things), do that. He should start responding to the new name as he'll get the good thing sooner.
The clicker training is fine, as an exercise, but do the above as your routine. If you mix the name up, doesn't matter; if you call him by the old name by accident, doesn't matter, just add in the new name. You and your family will probably need to adjust to the new name too, so don't get tongue tied worrying about it.
Sonic was Nino when we got him. Nice name, we used both names, and just phased out Nino over time. He loves his new name now.