Dog Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
900 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently got a new job offer (yippee!! :) ) that will allow me to do more as the pay and hours are SO much better than the crappy place i'm working at now provides.

I was thinking of having Karitsa in day care once a week to help with keeping her socialized (she is a foster fail). By me fostering dogs helps me tremendously in keeping my dogs social with other dogs but I really need a break from it for a while (I've been doing this for over 6 years straight with little to no breaks, even while I was in school full-time).

Seeing as Karitsa's past is relatively unknown, she seems like a pretty social girl but want to keep up with socialization when I take a break from fostering. I won't stop going into town with her or anything, just want an added social time for her.

How do I go about finding a good place that will keep her safe during day care? What sorts of questions do I ask? What are red flags that I should avoid? What should I be looking for?

·
Registered
2,800 Posts
Tour the facilities- are they clean? Can you see how employees interact with the dogs (during a tour the dogs will probably stop what they're doing and start barking their heads off at you- if there is a webcam or observation window that might be a better option for watching dog-dog and employee-dog interactions). If you can't tour and/or there are no webcams, I'd avoid that place. I once toured a daycare (got a job offer there) that let employees smoke right in the dog yards and drink during certain shifts! The owner bragged about that as if it would entice me to work there. So unprofessional and potentially dangerous, but no one would know unless they toured.