Dog Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone - newbie here.

We are picking up our 8 week old puppy this weekend and I'm finalizing some details. After reading a lot of articles and trying to educate myself on crate training, this is the schedule I came up with. I would love some feedback.

My husband works 2nd shift so he is home until 2:30pm. My 23 yr old daughter and 6 yr old gets home about 4:30pm. So the longest the puppy will be alone is about 2 hour gap, from 2:30-4:30pm.

Do you think 'potty time' is a little too excessive? I have it scheduled about every hour to every 2 hours. Is my crating time too excessive?

Please let me know if there's anything I am missing.

Thank you!

·
Registered
813 Posts
Some puppies may need to toilet more frequently than 2 hours, so watch out for signs of needing to go - sniffing the floor, circling, whining.

Is the puppy crate trained? If not, it will need to learn that the crate is a good place, rather than being shut in it and left.

Good luck with your puppy, relax, don't follow any schedule rigidly, be prepared to adjust your lifestyle. And don't get stressed about any mishaps or setbacks. Mistakes will happen, the puppy will make them and so will you. If you learn from them you are likely to finish up with a happy dog.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I realized I didn't even post up my schedule. Oops.

7:00 AM Get up. Potty break. Playtime.
7:30 AM Breakfast. Potty break.
8:15 AM Potty break. Crate time.
9:30 AM Potty break. Playtime/walk/etc.
10:00 AM Potty break. Crate.
11:30 AM Potty break. Playtime. Crate.
12:00 PM Lunch. Potty break. Playtime.
1:00 PM Potty break. Crate.
2:30 PM Potty break. Crate.
4:30 PM Potty break. Play time. Crate.
5:30 PM Dinner. Potty break. Playtime.
7:00 PM Potty break. Playtime/walk/etc.
9:00 PM Potty break. Bedtime. Crate.
12:00 AM Potty break. Crate.
3:00 AM Potty Break. Crate.