Dog Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone, I signed up to this forum because I am planning to get a dog for my family. Ever since I was a kid, my dream was to be a good family man and a good family isn't complete with out a dog.

However, I lived most of my life in the Philippines (the dogs i grew up with are Pitbulls and Dobermans) and it's easy to raise dogs in the Philippines because most people here have servants/maids (ranging around 3-4). Whenever we go to work, our servants are there so the dogs have someone watch over them, play with them, help along with the training, feed them, walk them when we can't, and just make sure they don't run out or destroy things in doors. But this is in the Philippines.

Now, I live in the New York City: I'm married, I work as a graphic designer and my wife is a Doctor of Internal Medicine. We have 2 kids, the eldest being 8 and the youngest being 6 and we now live in Riverdale - the Bronx. We've been living here for about two years now and we want a dog to complete us.

It's just I'm trying to figure out how to raise it. It seems so difficult here in the US. because unlike the Philippines, when we don't have any servants at home. My wife and I work through out the weekdays and my kids obviously go to school thus leaving the house fully unattended. So this brings me here asking advice.

How do you guys deal with this?
Do you just leave your dog alone at home alone while you work, what if your dog is a medium-large dog?

By the way, the desired dog i have is an American Pitbull but Labradors, a Boxer, and a Doberman are candidates.

·
Super Moderator
10,820 Posts
How the dog is raised and kept really depends on the owner. I'm disabled so I have the luxury of staying at home with my dog, back when I worked by dogs got a walk in the mornings then were by their selves anywhere from 8 to 9 hours 5 days a week, on my off days we'd go walking or to the dog park.