Dog Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!

I am a freshman at Stanford University and I am planning on graduating in three years, so 2011. In order to do this, I have to take summer classes every year to complete my 180 units of work. I really want a dog and I have had two dogs in the past. My parents have agreed that I can have a dog for my graduation present. After much research, I've decided on getting a cockapoo (my previous dogs were a schnoodle and a soft-coated wheaten terrier) and have even found a reputable breeder in my home state. I got in contact with the breeder and this summer am planning on visiting previous dogs that she has bred to make sure that this breeder and this breed of dog is really for me.

The problem is that I am so terribly impatient! I just want to graduate so I can have a dog, but that is going to take two more years and I don't know how I can stand it! Every time I talk to my mom all I want to talk about is getting a dog. I'm driving her crazy! I've gotten dog training books and have watched every cockapoo video on youtube. I know education is very important, otherwise I wouldn't be here at Stanford, but impatience is definitely my vice.

Can anyone give some advice about how I can survive waiting and accept that I have two more years to go?

Maybe hearing some stories of how long you had to wait to get your dream dog would help? My mom always says good things come to those who wait. Who knew it was this hard!

·
Registered
187 Posts
I had to wait about six years before I got my first EBT boy, just do loads of research on both cocker spaniels and poodles, but please be careful when you eventually get one, and look for the best breeder that you can, and only get pups from health tested stock, although being a cross breed, this is sometimes over looked, and don't pay over the odds either :)

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #3