Dog Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an 8 month Fox terrier that I rescued a little over 2 months ago. It is not my first time owning and raising a dog but it is my first time doing so in an apartment so I had to use potty training methods I am not used to. I have never been a fan of the idea of crate training but since I can't let her out to roam the outdoors freely I knew it was my only option. So we went through the process for about two weeks at which point I started weaning her out of her crate: first letting her about the house while I was home and could watch her (i took her out potty every 2-3 hours btw from the beginning and still do so), next after about another month letting her stay out at night, and recently over the past week letting her stay out home alone. She has done very well in all areas except pooping. She hardly ever has a pee accident in the house which is usually because I forgot to take her out, and there are no behavior issues (she's a very happy and playful pup to this day)

But for the life of me I CANNOT get her to stop pooping in my house. I grew up in the country where potty training consisted of showing them what they've done, shaming them, and putting them outside. Which works very effectively when the dog doesn't have to worry about being watched going potty outside so the psychology of "mommy doesn't like when I potty" doesn't matter there. I knew it would be different here because I have to be there every time she potties. So I tried very hard in the beginning to be calm and emotionless about her inside potties. I tried taking her outside mid poo to finsh without saying a word. I still jump over the moon with praise and excitement when she poops outside. Nothing works.