57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
DOG FOOD RECIPE 45 lb dog gets / day - add water to make it soupy
24 oz boiled sweet peas puree
4 oz baked ground turkey puree
2 oz canned salmon (already cooked) mini muffin pan 1 can divided into 21
add water freeze, she get 3 cubes/day spread out in meals
2 eggs scrambled in olive oil and chopped finely with spatula
1 teaspoon bone daily (do not give with medication, can decrease med effectiveness)
GNC/Pets- Digestive Health Complex with each meal, discontinued at Pet Smart
TREATS- Raw baby carrot, apple slice (no seeds)
MEDICATION- Apoquel tab from Vet, low side effects, takes place of Prednisone
I have been working on her allergies for 6 years. I had started resenting her and feeling like she was a lifetime sentence. I got rid of the food processor because it took forever and got a refurbished Blendtec blender. It works very fast and I don't have to take it apart for every serving. Now, she is like a new dog. Her pink skin is white, growing fur on belly and elbows for the first time. Stopped chewing paws. Soft and thick coat. Check with your vet.

·
Premium Member
10,819 Posts
My girl will LOVE these! :)
That recipe is not nutritionally complete. If you decide to just feed that to your dog please add a vitamin supplement to fill in any missing nutrients.

·
Registered
5,884 Posts
The only thing that helps my GSD with her allergies is a raw diet. We follow prey model raw, which is 80% muscle, 10% bone and 10% organ. When varying the protein, it is nutritionally complete. I add eggs a couple times a week and feed at least one fish meal per week for all the good fatty acids.

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
DOG FOOD RECIPE 45 lb dog gets / day - add water to make it soupy
24 oz boiled sweet peas puree
4 oz baked ground turkey puree
2 oz canned salmon (already cooked) mini muffin pan 1 can divided into 21
add water freeze, she get 3 cubes/day spread out in meals