Dog Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,217 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been working with Darby doing some basic stuff and he is just not getting it! I know I could be doing better but I'm unsure of exactly what I could improve on. Any advice, constructive criticism, suggestions, etc would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
507 Posts
Was this Darby's first time working with the clicker?

If so, while I'm not at all experienced, I think he might need a lot more time getting the clicker "primed" before moving on to learning anything other than click=treat. From the research I've done, you need to keep working on priming it until they reliably expect a treat from the click. It doesn't look like Darby knows the click means treat yet.

And again, I have NO experience whatsoever, so please take my advice with a grain of salt.

Also, from watching this quick section of video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_wv1uvvqaSw&feature=youtu.be&t=1m13s it sounds like you might need more of a pause between the click and the treat? Because right now I think he just knows your hand means treat, not that the click does.

Good luck! He looks like such a sweetie!

Reactions: sullyrules

·
Super Moderator
3,746 Posts
I'm far from being an expert on clicker training, but I might suggest that you focus on teaching Darby just one desired response in each training session. It seemed to be that you were perhaps transitioning too quickly. Maybe you could start by clicking when she hears her name and makes eye contact with you. The "sit" command could come later in a separate training session.

·
Registered
669 Posts