Dog Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, this is my first time here.. I need advice. I have a 11mth old Havanese and this is his 3rd time being groomed. I wouldnt normally get him cut so short in the colder weather but he had some matts under his arms (from his harness) so the groomer had to cut him short. The other 3 times he has been fine, and this time he is acting strange. He wont walk, he stands outside and shakes. I bought him a sweater, doesnt work. He use to love his walks, now its a struggle to get him to walk 10 feet. He isnt himself and I am wondering if there is something I can do, or will it just pass? Any advice is appreciated! Thanks

·
Registered
829 Posts
i had read something on line about behavior changes in long haired dogs after a very close hair cut. something about sensations on the skin and razor burn....i don't know. the only thing i would be worried about is false cause, or coincidence. maybe lynnemarie will chime in....she 's been grooming dogs for a long time and has lots of knowledge.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thank you for your suggestions and concernes. Yes his face and wiskers were trimmed. It is breaking my heart he wont walk. I just took him outside and again, he walks a little, then he stands there and shakes. I dont know what to do, if I should bring him to the vet or see if it passes. It will be a week tomorrow he was groomed. I dont even know if it has to do with that?

·
Banned
7,625 Posts
Some dogs are more sensitive to having their wiskers trimmed than others: Should you trim your dog’s whiskers? I'm not familier with what AWP was referencing but that wouldn't surprise me. But I'm thinking they trimmed his wiskers to far this time.

A vet check isn't a bad idea if it continues though, I'm not sure how long it'll take them to grow back in.

·
Super Moderator
10,820 Posts