Dog Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi im new to this to save time im going to copy paste what i wrote on a 'ask a vet forum' im wondering if anyone has the same problem with a poo eating dog. yeah i know dogs to random disgusting acts but there comes a time when enough is enough.

heres what i wrote......

hi, i just have a question about my 2yr lab Chelsea.
she has a horrible habbit im not sure if its just one of those yuck dog things, just her own thing or something worth looking into. theres nothing quite like your dog coming for a cuddle with a big poo smear on her mouth and the breath that goes with it.
she eats grass no suprise there iv seen alot of dogs eat grass, but then she vomits it up and eats it again. then she does a big grass infeasted poo and if i dont pick it up in time she waits for it to get a crust in the sun and eats her grass infested poo. what the???? she has done this from day one as a little pup. not only does she eat her own poo she eats our other dogs poo too. it doesnt stop there either when we go out walking theres a section where i let her off the lead and she goes in search of cat poo and eats that too!!!!! or she finds our own cats poo in the garden and has a chomp.
she probally gets more than enough to eat as i run a house where every meal is cooked for scratch and most the time im chucking vegie scraps or my daughters left overs out the door plus she gets nuts at night when she goes to bed and never finishes her portion.
we love her but she has this horrible disgusting poo eating habbit. do you have any idea why?
theres my gross dog question. hope you can help.

so has anyone here had this problem? the other forum i posted in doesnt get much traffic, hoping to hear im no the only on with a poo eater or maybe someone knows why.

thanks for your help:)

·
Registered
181 Posts
Dogs just like the taste of poo it seems, plus, they learn about other dogs from smelling and eating their poo.