Dog Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently adopted a 9 mo poodle terrier mix whose coat needs more attention than I'm used to giving. She has a medium length single coat that I'd prefer not to clip. Like a poodle she has hair rather than fur which is wavy and cottony and tends to mat if she is not combed regularly. Unfortunately I am not very experienced at this and between her squirming and my being afraid to pull her hair she is not getting brushed every day.

I have on hand the following tools:

Chris Christensen Ice on Ice leave in conditioner and detangler
An oval CC pin brush with longish pins
A t-shaped CC pin brush with shortish pins
A Oscar Frank Universal Slicker
A six inch comb with medium spaced rotating teeth
A Safari comb with alternating medium and short teeth
A Furminator (not that I'm thinking of using it)

I'm guessing that I should use the conditioner to saturate a portion of the coat and then line brush it. She mats more on her hind legs. Any tool I use encounters resistance from the many minor tangles. She's not all that treat oriented so I don't know how to keep her distracted and comfortable.

Any pointers are appreciated and don't hesitate to explain to me like I'm five.

Emma 06-21-15 - 02.jpg

Emma 06-21-15 - 04.jpg

Emma 06-21-15 - 05.jpg

·
Registered
13 Posts