Dog Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I'm an engineering student creating a GPS Pet Collar. It would cost around $30 and would sell online.

We are currently prototyping different designs and would love feedback from knowledgeable pet-owners like you. :)

So far, our product is a little black box that you attach to your pet's current collar. When you want to know where your pet is, look up your pet's location on Google maps.

Are there any other features that would be very important?

If you want more information, check out our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/ForeverCollar.

·
Registered
13,331 Posts
I love the idea.
Maybe you could have a rechargeable battery in the unit, something you could plug in overnight, like the astro tracker has. Your unit is a lot cheaper, and better, if it located by satellite to your phone, rather than by radio signal to a handset.

It would also be really neat if your system kept a "track" of the dog's path.
If you wanted to get really advanced your system could keep statistics such as the distance traveled and average speed of the dog.

Another cool feature would be an alarm on your phone if your dog left a designated area.

·
Registered
13,331 Posts
Hey, will you let us know if you get this thing up and working?

·
Registered
12,335 Posts
How will Tagg compare to yours?

I love Tess's requests. Also, make it waterproof! And a mobile app would be ideal!

Hmmm.... we spent around $1000 on our Garmin Astro system. I'm going to feel ripped off!

·
Registered
1,410 Posts
Hey Tess, that tag system will send a text to your phone if your dog leaves the area you have designated as 'home'. If Luna was off-leash trained I'd order one now!

·
Registered
3,294 Posts
If you can add this:

It would also be really neat if your system kept a "track" of the dog's path.
Another cool feature would be an alarm on your phone if your dog left a designated area.