Dog Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since this is my first time raising a dog from a puppy I have some concerns that I need verified. My puppy is now 8 weeks I got her at 6 weeks. She sleeps a lot and I am wondering why she is so tired if her breed personality is very active. After reading some of those initial puppy training and behavior traits I worry that she is not engaging with me or her surroundings.

Please help me if this is normal or tips to help get her engaged and accept her surroundings.

·
Registered
1,099 Posts
6 weeks is still very young and should've still been with her littermates and Mum for another 2-4 weeks.

I would get her to the vet ASAP, a Mal pup should not be quiet or sleeping all the time.

·
Super Moderator
10,820 Posts
Get her to the vet now. Your getting her at 6 weeks of age tells me you either got her from a back yard breeder, or she's a product of a puppy mill. Either of those means that she was not bred to be as healthy as she can be. She should be very active at 8 weeks old, basically playing, then napping.

Mals are not good dogs for first time owners, once you know she's healthy please get in contact with a good positive reinforcement based trainer who can help you.

https://bayareadogtrainer.wordpress.com/2011/05/16/note-to-the-american-public-belgian-malinois-look-dont-touch/

·
Super Moderator
10,820 Posts

·
Premium Member
9,240 Posts
Agreed, speak with a vet. Is she up to date with all her shots?

·
Registered
1,188 Posts
How is she when she's not sleeping. Puppies sleep a LOT. If she's lethargic all the time that is indicative of a problem.

How is her weight? Have you de wormed her?

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Yes, she has had her first round of shots. Her weight currently is around 10lbs and growing. She's 9 weeks now, she plays a lot now and she sleeps a lot too. I have a feeling now that she was still getting acquainted to her new home.

·
Premium Member