Dog Forum banner

First time dog owner

1K views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  Madra Anamchara 
#1 ·
My dog is 8 months old, I brought her home for the first time pretty early in age at only 5 weeks. I grew up with 5 dogs of 3 different breeds in the household, but this is my first dog I’ve ever owned. So I’m not very experienced in dog training, but I’ve been a dog lover my whole life. My dog is a pitsky breed so her behavior is extremely hyperactive and energetic but very defiant as well. I take her to the dog park at least once a day for a couple hours because I live in an apartment so I don’t have a yard for her to play in. Lately her behavior has been more defiant then ever and she is as vocal as she is energetic. Especially when she doesn’t get to have her way.

#2 ·
I don't think dogs are defiant as such. In fact, I'd say there are three main reasons in my view why a dog doesn't comply with what we ask.

First, she doesn't understand. That's where training comes in, you need to teach her what you want, and reward when she gets it right so she knows she has done the right thing.

Second, the motivation or reward of doing what she is already doing is higher than the motivation or reward of doing what you are asking. This is why some dogs won't, for example, recall when they are playing or chasing squirrels. So make sure what you offer is of far higher value - or, if you can't beat something like a squirrel chase, don't allow the opportunity for it to happen (i.e. don't set her up to fail). Use a leash or a long line to keep control.

Third, you are working against a deeply rooted breed trait that the dog has been selectively bred for over centuries. There is a reason why we don't use terriers to herd sheep - it can be done but it is a lot harder.

Added to that, she is just getting into adolescence so she will be becoming a bit more independent.