Dog Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! My name is Ben - I grew up with dogs my whole life but this is my first time having my own dog. I am 32 and live alone (but have a lot of friends and family support. Mila is 3 ½ months old and is pit bull / black lab mix with maybe other breed(s) as well.

I am so lucky! Her mom was owned by a homeless person and the rescue that took her in did such a great job with her. She is so sweet and smart. I have a few questions hopefully I can find some help with.

1. She loves other animals! But plays aggressively. You can see her prey drive kick in. She bites and nibbles but it’s never maliciously. Usually she’s submitting and on her back when she does it, same when playing with me. I know this can be common with puppies but any advice on how to train her not to? So far I do the “ouch” and shun her for a short time (she’s stubborn and doesn’t seem to care when I don’t give her attention haha). Also, I will put her on timeout in her play pen if she gets too aggressive when people / animals are around.

2. What leashes are best? In terms of style and brand? She just got her final shots and I’ve been taking her on walks with a harness. She does fine but I just want to make sure I’m providing something for her that is safe and comfortable.

3. It’s been very concerning learning of all the politics around dog food (certain experts in medical / behavioral fields suggesting food because their associations have partnership with specific food companies). What I would like to know:

-grain or no grain diet?
-what kibble brands do you suggest? Right now I am feeding her Nutri Source grain free.
-should I be feeding her more “human” food? I’m not training her to be Lebark James but we will be living an active lifestyle (running, hiking, swimming). She’s very athletic so probably will get her in agility courses. What diets are suggested for this?