Dog Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,800 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last Saturday we started our beginner agility classes. Basically the facility I train at has batches of 6 week long classes- you just sign up for the next batch of classes at the level the trainer thinks you're need to be at after each batch ends. A friend from work is in beginner agility with us and this is the second batch she's done.

Delilah's just barely learning everything. Last week we focused on directionals (which I understand now, no worries) which Delilah is getting really good at and we were also introduced to weave poles. This is our first set of agility classes but all of the other students have taken some there before so we were the only ones who haven't done weave poles before. I'm not good at explaining but we were supposed to teach them by clicking as soon as the dog's head came past the first pole and rewarding when the dog came through that pole. We weren't supposed to lure them, just let the dog figure it out. I'm not doing a good job at explaining it but Delilah caught on right away and was able to go through the poles and back without any mistakes the first time through. She catches on to clicker training and learns patterns really quickly. Only problem is I don't really have a way to practice them outside of class without a yard or equipment.

Next class is tomorrow!

·
Registered
58 Posts
Congratulations! That's awesome!! When I did agility with my dog we made weave poles in our back yard with pvc pipe. If you have a yard it is pretty inexpensive to make them. Good luck!!

·
Registered
2,800 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
So our second class was this past weekend and we worked more on weave poles. There were a couple of other dogs there that were much more advanced than us that did them really well.