Dog Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Another thread made me think about this- I would love to hear from others about their experiences/ thoughts/ questions with anything shelter or rescue related. Anything from volunteering, to adopting, questions, ect.

I am by no means a shelter expert but I am curious to hear about others experiences, things they like/ didnt like, ect. I'm always looking for ideas to improve things at work (shelter) and would love to get a discussion going

Fire away!! Even if its just bits and pieces that sort of relate.

·
Registered
43 Posts
All but two of my pets over the past 35 years have been adopted from rescues or "shelters." Of the two cats and one dog I have now, one cat and the dog were adopted recently from New York City's Animal Care and Control, basically the public pound which has to take any animal they come across. NYCACC has struggled mightily to reduce its euthanasia rate and increase its adoptions and has made progress since I first adopted from them 13 years ago. Local bureaucratic politics continue to hold them back but they are improving.

Anyway, when we started our pet family all over again last year I swore my next dog would come from a foster situation with cats so I had more first-hand information. Previously both of my dogs came from "kenneling" situations. However before we adopted our latest dog we adopted a cat from ACC and both the process and the kitty were fantastic. And this despite the fact that I had to wear a hazmat suit to avoid spreading the leukopenia virus that was raging through the shelter at the time.