Dog Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there! I'm brand new to dog forum after a friend recommended me for some dog questions I have.

I'm strongly considering getting a dog. However, my biggest issue with making any dog decisions is my bird, Kevin.

Kevin is a cockatiel. She is currently the only pet I have. Before I bring any other animal into my life I want to make sure that Kevin's quality of life does not suffer. Currently, Kevin is free to come out of her cage and fly freely pretty much from the moment I get home to when I go to bed. She hangs out in the kitchen with me when I cook, rides around on my shoulder and loves to be blow dried when I get ready in the morning. She can be left unsupervised in a room, but generally is always with me.

I've read that getting a puppy makes it easier to train the dog to get along with the bird as well making it easier for the dog to learn "leave it" and other bird saving commands. I would love to get a puppy, but am not opposed to an adult dog. Ultimately, I just want what is best for the bird.

I've thought through all the other factors. I can afford a dog, my lease allows a dog of any size, I'm ready to care for a puppy or adult dog and my office is dog friendly so the dog will not be alone more than two days a week in the house.

If anyone has any breed suggestions I would love to hear them. Or any other tips for raising a dog and a bird in the same house. I am open to a rescue or a breeder. Ultimately I just want to get a pup that would be the best fit for my bird so they can both lead the best lives I can give them.

Other factors to consider when recommending breeds:
I would love a medium sized dog, but would consider a small. I do not want/think I could handle a 100+ lb dog.
Ideally, I'd love my dog to be able to run with me.
I also live alone so if the dog is a little intimidating looking, that wouldn't be a bad thing :D