Dog Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is anyone here a dog trainer? I was just wondering what you think of your job, advantages/ disadvantages and just basic overview of your schedule and what you do, etc. I was looking into veterinary technician but heard they burn out quick and the pay isn’t the best. I know money isn’t everything but I’m in NJ and it’s expensive to live so I want to be able to pay the bills and several people have suggested dog training.

·
Registered
600 Posts
I'm not personally a dog trainer but a friend of mine is. I am a scuba diving instructor... or at least I was for 15 years. I have recently retired so that I can start enjoying scuba diving again......

In scuba diving the saying is that if you want to make a small fortune in the scuba industry then you need to start with a large fortune.

In my personal experience -- and this is not an exaggeration -- scuba instruction is a "loss leader". You might want to google that term. It means that initial instruction is an "investment" (at a loss) in order to be able to sell something of greater value to the customer down the line.

In the case of scuba instruction, the thing of greater value is equipment, travel and more training. This doesn't mean that the initial training was poor quality, just that the seller didn't turn a profit on it and will have hope and expectations of further business.

EXACTLY the same phenomenon happens with dog training. The initial (puppy) training is often a loss leader. You can join for next to nothing but then you're in the "fold". The "tribe" or "community" feeling is cultivated and then harvested. Most dog trainers (at least the ones I know) make the vast majority of their profit running "walking services".

Training is a loss leader but the walking and/or kennel services is where the money is made.