Dog Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am new to this dog forum because I am trying to exhaust all my options for this problem. I have two dogs: Chief and Thorne. Chief is a 2 year old husky shepherd mix and Thorne is a 1 year old Italian Greyhound mix. Both rescues.

The way my house is laid out has my room and attached office in the basement. Thorne is a bit clingy and must sleep with me (per his own rules). However, he is VERY scared of the basement. He runs down the stairs, excited to follow me and then gets down there and starts shaking, as if he's realized he's made a dire mistake. His entire little body is shivering and shaking so much that he starts panting from tiring himself out. I have never seen a dog so frightened. I have been trying to help the problem by bringing him down in small increments and then slowly increasing the amount of time and rewarding him for his good behavior. He sometimes makes good progress, but other days he goes right back where we started. Thorne also piddles when he gets overwhelmed and does so a lot downstairs. I always try to comfort him and talk to him and calmly as possible but nothing seems to work. I tried ruling out the idea of a presence that I can't see that might be scaring him (i.e. ghosts, demons, demagorgons from The Upside Down, etc) by bringing Chief in the basement. Chief has no worries when he is in the basement at all. In fact, he likes coming down here for the silence.

I was just wondering if anyone had a similar experience and consequently any tips or ideas on how I could help little Thorne feel better about being here. I have had him for 9 months and it has been a problem for 9 months. I just want him to be happy.

*note: he is extremely outgoing and happy when he is not in the basement and can easily make himself at home at any other place we visit.

·
Premium Member
10,820 Posts