Dog Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

This is my first time using this forum and I'm hoping to get some advice. We have a 2 year old Chihuahua-terrier mix. She's the sweetest, most gentle little dog but she has lots of energy. From about the time she was 6months until about 3 months ago I would take her running every morning. Just a little 1.5 mile run around the neighborhood and she loved it. It took her a little while to get used, but after a couple weeks she would be dragging me around the neighborhood.

About 6 months ago I started taking her to work with me a few days a week. She was still running with me first thing in the morning, and then about an hour later we would walk .75 miles to the train and head into the city. The weather turned bad and rainy and even though she had run in the rain many times before, she suddenly refused to go out. I thought it was somewhat understandable, so I let her have a few days off. Then when the weather was better I tried to take her out again and she didn't want to go. She just sat on the sidewalk and refused to budge. I eventually got her to go, but the following days it got harder and harder. She now absolutely refuses to go anywhere first thing in the morning. She won't even walk. If I carry her a little ways, she still won't continue at all, but if I finally give up and head back home, then she'll sprint as fast as she can.

I've tried switching from her collar to a harness (then she REALLY won't move), I've tried going without her (she'll watch me leave from the window) but nothing is working. My husband is at home when we go and I thought that was part of it, but he was gone on business for a week and even then she wouldn't make it more than a few feet before begging to go back home. It's now summer and great weather (i'm in the bay area) but she still absolutely will not go.