Dog Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, i have a 7 month old samoyed and have a problem of him suddenly changing behaviour. It happens sometimes when im playing with him and most of the time when im walking him in the morning or afternoon. It always happens so suddenly, he would jump on me, bite my pants,hands,leg and anything he could see, becoming very clingy, going through my legs, and biting his leash when going for walks. I dont think its meant to show aggresion as ive seen him getting angry before for walking under the hot sun for too long(i didnt know too well about samoyeds that time as i was a beginner) and this behaviour is completely different. Could dogs do that when they feel too excited perhaps? Or maybe its another sign of aggresion? What should i do to prevent it?
Any help given is appreciated!
Thanks!

·
Registered
196 Posts
I would say this isn't aggression, it's overexcitement, maybe paired with a bit of testosterone which makes him behave like an adolescent boy (temper tantrums, slammed doors...). This isn't a reason for neutering BTW, it's just a normal part of development. Have a read of this thread, which should help: What would you do?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply! I also thought about that at first. But is there any way to do anything about it though? Because it really hinders me from walking him everyday as we barely move at all because he keeps on jumping at me...

·
Registered
196 Posts
Did you spot the link to the thread I gave? They can blend into the background of the post, but it's here: What would you do?