Dog Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Calling all dog runners...
Hello, I'm a final year University student studying product design. I am looking to design a product to encourage people to take their dogs running. Those who DO run with their dogs, what are the problems you experience running with your dogs?

Any other comments feel free to answer.
Much appreciated,
Alice

·
Registered
97 Posts
Hello! I've no experience of running with my dog... chance would be a fine thing, my running days are over! But I wondered if you've considered the potential impact on a dog's joints, and what they get out of the activity? Pounding along for longish periods without breaks can be bad for their joints, particularly in younger dogs, and also can be about as exciting for them as running on a treadmill for a human. Plus you can end up with a very fit dog who is still bored and understimulated.

I'm not saying at all that running with your dog isn't something you should do - it's a great activity that many dogs will love and can benefit both dog and owner. But I'd like to see, as part of any advertising or packaging, clear guidelines on building up exercise gradually, and ensuring that the dog still has plenty of time to mooch and sniff, which are important parts of dog walks.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi JudyN,

Thanks for the feedback! I totally agree, we do need to care for our jogs joints just as us humans do. I have been researching into the correct ways of warming up your dog also and why this is an important factor before running/ fast walks with your dog. I would love to design a simple information sheet using graphics on the damage too much exercise can do to your dog and the correct way to exercise with your dog.

Thank you so much again for your feedback!

·
Registered
152 Posts