Dog Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a small rescue, Lily, they told me she was a wire haired fox terrier mix, about 10 LBS. but my guess would be a Jack Russel Chihuahua mix. I'm no expert however, I got her directly from animal care and control with no knowledge of her background. I got her when she was 3.5 years according to ACAC. So now she would be approximately 5 years old.

Me and my roommate moved into an apartment together about 4 months ago. She had visited me before once about 5 months prior to moving into together and they got along fine. My roommate had no concerns about the dog, she had dogs before, ect.

Recently the dog nipped at her. I understand why, we were talking in my room, my roommate hardly frequents it and it is often just me and Lily's area. And while they had been playing moments before my roommate suddenly swung her face toward my dogs, I wouldn't have liked that either. She nipped at her. This was the night before last. She had lunged before but never made contact. She did this time, and didn't break skin. Then last night (the night after the incident) We were talking about what happened and solutions, again in my room, and my roommate moved her arms rather suddenly and Lily went for her hand but I stopped her before contact. My roommate had been petting her, making and effort. Lily seemed fine before the near miss incident.

My roommate was rightly frustrated. Her and dogs relationship so far had been positive. Roommate would give her food and water, cuddle, play together when I wasn't home. I know that her aggression only appears when I am also there, causing her to be protective of me.