Dog Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I have a 1/2 lab, 1/2 husky who is almost 2 years old (December).

I have been doing correction/obedience training for 5 months now, and train with my dog for at least an hour everynight.

For the most part it is going well. But sometimes during an excercise (no one in particular) he will just start jumping around, and darting around really fast. Its so quick that I can't do a normal correction as I have been taught. And to give a correction on the choke collar during this time would be cruel, because he moves so fast that it wouldn't be a quick "zip" like normal. It would be prolonged. So I avoid that.

What are some other alternative corrections I could do to prevent this behavior?

- BigBear

·
Registered
316 Posts
If you read the forum description/rules, you will see that this is not a community that uses (or advocates) the use of punishment. So you aren't likely to get recommendation for "alternative corrections," and much more likely to get responses from people who have embraced very different ways of training.

Personally, I think an hour of training or obedience drilling every night sounds unbearably boring, so I would be joining your dog in frantic leaping about. For prevention, I'd aim to reduce stress: shorter training sessions, higher rates of reinforcement, lower (or zero) rates of punishment, more breaks, more fun.

A highly competitive, excellent trainer who excels in obedience is Denise Fenzi, and she has a whole blog full of free advice, videos of her training with her dogs, and other useful things (plus an online training school, which is not free but very reasonably priced and useful). Her blog is: Denise Fenzi | a professional dog trainer specializing in relationship-building in competitive dog sport teams

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·