Dog Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an 11 week old bull dog puppy mix who CONSTANTLY is biting. Since he is a puppy, it doesn't hurt that much. But I obviously don't want it to become
A habit. When he bites me, I clap my hands and say no, and then try and direct him towards a toy, but soon he comes back for me. Could he be teething? I'm new to this. Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,904 Posts
He's probably not teething yet, but he *is* growing extremely quickly, and that means his gums are stretching, and his skin is stretching, which means he is itchy and his gums ache! Of course he wants to chew! He probably also thinks your hands, legs, feet, etc. are chew toys (to a puppy, the world is a giant chew toy, I'm convinced).

Redirecting to a toy is a good step! Probably the clapping isn't helping--my puppy (15 wks) definitely would see that as "chew toy hands playing keep away! ooh!"

The first thing to do is, *always* approach the dog with a toy in your hand. Whenever he wants to play, make *sure* it is with a toy. Eventually, this will help him get the idea that playing with you => playing through toys.

When he nips, the next step after redirecting to a toy is to disengage. I usually stand up and turn my back for a few seconds, long enough to get her attention focused elsewhere (usually on the toy I'd been trying to redirect her to). If I have to keep doing it repeatedly, playtime is over for a little while. I try not to make it seem like "punishment," though; it's more to give her time to cool off.