Dog Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I am fairly new to the world of dog. It had been since I was a kid that I have had a puppy. Me and my new husband had moved in together, so we recently picked out our first corgi puppy, Gimli. He is now 7 months old and is smarter than ever. My 14 year old brother lives with me and over time, Gimli, has been showing some signs of aggression towards him. We go to the dog park daily to exercise, social interaction, and get some extra training done. When he's in training classes he is totally okay with other people and dogs, except for dogs that try to mount him since he is now becoming a young man he retaliates harshly when he gets annoyed. Normally I work till the afternoon, so I ask my brother that as soon as he gets home to take Gimli for a walk, but when he walks in the door, Gimli pees and tries to attack my brother. With me, he has no problems, and my husbands usually out of the picture, due to being deployed on a ship. My brother says he can't recall anything that he could have done to upset Gimli, other than they got into a little fit one day when he was on the leash, but they were cool up until recently. Sometimes it's even with me around, if my brother tries to walk passed him, he'll snarl and lung at him to attack him even though my brother has done nothing but enter the room. We figured it may be a dominance issue so we had scheduled him to be neutered as soon as possible, in hopes that it might calm him down. One day we had our friends watch him for a while, and he tried to bite one friend for just trying to put on his leash, and then later on, he was sleeping on my girlfriend and she moved him ever so slightly and he tried to bite her. The only time he's ever bitten me is when I tried to take something from him that he really wasn't supposed to have in his mouth. Then 2 days ago, we were trying on harnesses at the petstore, Gimli bit the store associate when she tri