Dog Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2,177 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive been thinking about trying out dehydrated food for awhile especially for Sawyer, but given that most are quite pricey (at least for me) and it wasn't exactly clear if the amount you were getting what worth how much it cost so I just stuck to regular kibble. I also only really knew about the honest kitchen. After reading a recent thread on here about dehydrated foods I decided to do more research on the food type, and mainly the brands mentioned (honest kitchen, stella and chewy, and sojo). After reading about each company and seeing what there products were, I think I might go with sojo. It was nice that it also said right on the website what the actual amount of food was rehydrated. Anyways given that I'm new to dehydrated foods, I have a couple of questions,
Are these good brands to start with and are there other good brands to look into? For stella and chewys I was a little confused since their dehydrated comes in patties, according to their feeding guide between Maye and Sawyer I would need 20.5 patties a day and given the pakadges are only in ounces I feel like I would have to buy quite a few packadges in one go, or is the math just going over my head on this one :p? Since they also have frozen patties/morsels, how does the weight to actual amount of food compare to dehydrated? Then my last question, in kibble its not uncommon to not follow the bags feeding guidelines and end up feeding less, is the same true for dehydrated/frozen or should I follow the guidelines in this case?
Sorry for all the questions, and thanks for any help.

·
Registered
1,634 Posts
Echo started loosing weight and had issues with a sensitive stomach (seemed to clear up with wet food on vet advice), so we tried to find a good wet formula and THK ended up being our best option. It's been going really well, a 4 Lb box lasts about 10-14 days for a 25 Lb puppy.