Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody!

This is my first time posting and it is preeeetty long, but I really need help with my sweet dachshund, Oliver. He is a 9 month old longhaired dachshund. We bought our first dachshund, Lucy, at a pet store in town and she was healthy and easy to crate train. She has some behavior problems that we are still working on (barking at anything and everything), but that's dachshunds for you! We bought our second dachshund from there as well since we had such a good experience with Lucy. But ever since then Oliver has had so many problems...

I'll start with the easier one. Oliver has extreme submissive urination. We don't hit our dogs and are always gentle with him. But when we brought him home he would pee everywhere if we walked too quickly to the kitchen, if we attached the leash to his collar, if we took off his collar before bed, or if we ever pet him (no matter where we pet him). After many many months we have stopped his submissive peeing for the most part. He only does submissive peeing when he first wakes up from a nap or in the morning (so obviously putting a collar on him first thing in the morning always leads to soaked bedding). We've given him a lot of love, followed a lot of Caesar Milan's suggestions on helping a dog build confidence, have tried to train him, etc... and for the most part it has worked, but he still shies away from hands and fast movements. It makes me wonder if something was happening to him before we bought him, like at the breeder? I know it isn't medical (we've had extensive tests and urinalysis, all of which came back fine), so it is behavioral. I'm just concerned about how long this is going to go on for, and what other effects bad treatment might have had on him when he was just a puppy at the breeder.