Dog Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there, this is my first time on this site. My husband and I adopted our first dog almost a month ago from our local shelter. She is a lab, collie mix, and oddly enough she's a good match with us even though we're in an apartment building. She's pretty mellow, and has only barked inside once ever (this morning actually) inside, she is the perfect dog.

We're working with her outside, because she has some social issues. She's not sure about other dogs, and flat out scared of people unless she's gotten to know them (she coward from my husband the first time we saw her). She also doesn't seem to be a fan of bad weather, in particular wind. We had snow last night (PS we're in Canada) and it was really windy this morning...she basically did her business and wanted to go back in. Believe me, I'm so not opposed to not having to go out in the bad weather...I am however worried for her. I want her to get her exercise and stay stimulated.

So I guess I'm looking for inside activity ideas. We play with her ball down the hall, and she does well with that, eventually it turns into cuddles with mom. Some one suggested a laser pointer to us... and she gave me a look as if to say, "seriously"? I made her an obstacle course, and she had no interest, it turned into cuddles with mom once again. I've tried running around the apartment with her and that gets her going, sometimes a little too rough, but she's learning. I also hid some training treats around and had her stiff them out... I'm looking for other ideas. What indoor activities do you find work?

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
1,344 Posts